Assalamu Alaikum Wa rahmatullahi Wa Barakatuhu,

I have always made it a practise to write ‘Actions are According to Intentions’ in my signature on various forums. Although now I have slowly drifted away from that practise, whilst thinking of what Hadeeth to include in our first Hadeeth post, I remembered my signature on forums, which reminded me of the fact that this hadeeth is usually the very first hadeeth found in most of the hadeeth kutub. Also, it reminded me of whan I first joined the Breathe Islam blog, wherein my first post clearly indicated my intentions of joining the blog.

I decided that it was time time I set my intentions staright here too, for many a time, Shaytaan intervenes and tries to distort our intentions so insha Allaah, by reposting my intentions posts, I have full hope that Allaah accepts my efforts and that He keeps my intentions sincere throughout the course of the existence of this blog.

قَالَ النَّبِيُّ صَلَي اللهُ عَلَيْهِ وَ سَلم

انما الاعمال بالنيات و انما لامرئ ما نوي فمن كانت هجرته الي الله و رسوله فهجرته الي الله و رسوله، ومن كانت هجرته الي دنيا يصيبها أو إمرأة يتزوجها فهجرته الي ما هاجر اليه

رواه بخاري و مسلم

The Prophet صلي الله عليه وسلم said:

“Deeds are only by intentions, for each man is only for which he has intended, and so whoevers hijrah is for Allah and his messenger صلي الله عليه وسلم, then indeed his hijrah is only to Allah and his messenger صلي الله عليه وسلم. But whoevers hijrah is to the world he wishes to acquire or a woman he seeks to marry, then his hijrah is only to that which he has actually immigrated.”

[Bukhari and Muslim]

Arabic and translation taken from here (Jazaakallah).

Following this hadeeth, I hold the intention of spreading the word of Islam, and not just giving my views but the words of the ‘Ulamaa (May Allah Ta’aala shower His blssings upon them. Ameen)

Please make dua for me that my work may be accepted in the eyes of Allah Ta’aala.

Jazakumullah.

Wassalam

