Statement on Current Vegetarian Status

masterfoods

As Salaamu Alaikum, as many are aware and worried that Masterfoods the makers of many chocolate that many muslims eat around the world had decided to source their products from non-halaal sources. However due to many complaints (and off course the companies worry for its sales) Masterfoods the makers have changed their mind (well slightly). 

At Mars UK we recently changed the source of some of the whey which is used in some of our chocolate products. We have received lots of feedback that this decision has made it difficult for some of you, especially those of you who are vegetarians, to continue to enjoy our products.

We made a mistake. We apologise.

The consumer is our boss. Therefore we listen to you and your feedback.

As a company we value openness, honesty and diversity and we believe that anybody should be able to choose freely from our range of chocolate brands.

But being sorry isn’t enough. Therefore we commit to you today, that we at Mars UK will ensure that a selection of your favourite brands – Mars bars, Snickers bars, Galaxy and Maltesers, will be suitable for vegetarians in the near future. To this effect we are starting to change our manufacturing process today.

We will keep you informed of our progress against this commitment through regular updates on this website.

Please accept our apology

Added by datruth: Masterfoods will still be using the whey products in a few of their chocolates:
Q3.You make lots of other brands – what about the suitability of them?

A3.Other products will also be suitable for vegetarians including Minstrels, Revels, and Ripple. However, Twix, Bounty and Celebrations will continue not to be suitable for vegetarians.

Advertisements